Time to Connect!

Welcome to The Connected Man’s Blog! Let’s not waste time and get right to it…

Why this blog? Why read it, why should you care?

This blog IS NOT about being “connected” in a particular industry, though from time to time you may read posts having to do with information I may have as a result of being in the tv and paintball media industries. This blog IS about being “connected” to your spirit, your wife (if you have one), your children (if you have some or are thinking about it), your interests and gadgets. Ultimately it is about life’s connections and sharing information that really matters….to me (and you as well, hopefully).

Often, I find myself sharing information with other parents, other dads, other paintballers and find that what I have to share is helpful to some people so I figured that I’d share it here on the web as well and maybe some other people can benefit from it as well. I know that in the process of blogging and exchanging comments with the 1 or 2 readers who may choose to follow me that I’ll learn something from you as well.

What kinds of information will you find here? Well, you’ll read posts on topics about everything from being a father and raising sons and a daughter to the basic breakdown and maintenance of a paintball marker to utilizing gadgets to make your life more organized and efficient (still working on that one…..I’m not an organized person by nature. Lol)

I welcome you to read, to comment, to connect.

MoIP? We’ll see.

As a regular Skype user, VoIP has definitely been a powerful tool for helping me do interviews and make international calls while keeping costs to a minimum and keeping .mp3 records of calls in one place. Wonder if MoIP will have as great an impact on the cellular communications market as VoIP has had on landline based communications? I can’t call it, but it will be interesting to see what happens.

For those who don’t know, MoIP stands for mobile communications over internet protocol. Wikipedia defines it as: “the mobilization of peer-to-peer communications including chat and talk using internet protocol via standard mobile communications applications including 3G, GPRS, Wifi as well as Wimax. Unlike mobile VoIP, MoIP is not a VoIP program made accessible from mobile phones or a switchboard application using VoIP in the background. It is rather a native mobile application on users’ handsets and used to conduct talk and chat over the internet connection as its primary channel.”

With the background info taken care of, check out this post from the Boy Genius. It details the launch of a new nationwide network called Zer01 Mobile which runs on AT&T’s data networks.
Zer01 Mobile launches nationwide : Boy Genius Report